Day 26: Intermittent Fasting Mistake #1

Posted: July 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

For all of you that are new to Intermittent Fasting, check out this brief but informative article titled How To: Intermittent Fasting.

So I started out pretty well today. Eating according to my normal routine. I scheduled myself a 24 fast so that would put me at my last meal around 8pm tonight and my first meal tomorrow, around 8pm.  Everything was going pretty well until we went out to dinner with some friends. Now, I have no problems eating out while dieting. In fact, there have been many times where Andrew and I still go out to eat and sometimes while I’m fasting! Yes, this means sometimes I just sit there while he eats a plateful of delicious food and I’m sipping on water or coffee. If I’m not fasting, I typically order a something with a lean protein and fresh veggies, or a salad with dressing on the side. I get everything a la cart and pay close attention to my portion size. Yeah, I know, it sucks but who said this whole project was gonna be easy?  Well, tonight, we go out for Thai/Cambodian food…one of my favorite cuisines.  After reviewing the menu options, I hear this voice in my head that tells me…”Hey! You’re fasting tomorrow! Eat up!” I tried to fight the voice with logic and reason but dammit I lost!  Sometimes the voices in your head makes you do stupid things (I’m sure you can buy a shirt with that phrase on it?)  and this is just what happened tonight.

Intermittent Fasting Mistake #1

I learned that it can be very tempting to pig out before a fast.  This is part of the psychological fear of “starving,” a fear which has been well reinforced by the food industry.  But a huge meal before starting your fast will set off that hormonal imbalance we are trying to avoid! Live and learn.

Well, that’s THAT. Time to move on. Let’s talk about what I had for dinner! Way more interesting! We ordered family style and here’s what I noshed on:

Samlor Machou (Khmer Lemongrass Soup): A chicken broth base soup seasoned with fresh galangal, tamarind, lemon grass, lemon juice, onions, Thai basil, garlic, chili paste, corriander and other stuff I’m sure I’m missing.

Bun Thit Nuong (Vermicelli with Vietnamese Grilled Pork): BBQ grilled pork served on a bed of vermicelli rice noodles with pickled carrots and daikons, grated cucumber, roasted peanuts, scallions, fresh herbs and a sweet, fish sauce dressing (nuoc nam cham).

Mouan Cha K’nyei (Crispy Ginger Chicken Stir Fry): Fresh ginger and chicken stir fried with garlic, fish sauce, Chinese red hot chilli peppers.

I did only have a small, handful size serving of white rice but went overboard on the the other stuff.

TODAY’S STATS RECAP

1. Workout: rest

2. Food: Calories: 1,101 + x = too many

 

Leave a comment