Day 19: 24 Hour Fast…Success

Posted: July 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

Happy Friday everyone! First and foremost, I would like to thank the audience out there (friends, family, looky loos, whoever) who are actually reading or skimming and  glancing through my blog. I designed this blog as a personal tool to hold myself accountable for my goals but the feedback and support from all of you has been the cherry on top! That said, THANK YOU!!!

So yesterday I had my last meal at 1pm in order to start a  24 hour fast.  I had second thoughts about it too, like “Crap, I’m gonna go work out tonight then come home and NOT eat? Boo!” What sounded like a bad and torturous plan wasn’t that bad at all. Here’s how it went.

1pm: Last meal for the day bringing  the calorie total to 726.

2pm – 4:45pm: studied, studied, studied, played with Clyde (our dog), studied some more. Midterms tomorrow!

5-6pm: Time to hit stuff! Off to kickbox and spar for an hour + an hour of Crossfit. It was a tough session too! Lots of burnout drills and sparring (fighting 2 people at a time!).  At this point, I’m nervous about getting through the fast.  I’m kicking myself thinking I was definitely going to be hungry later after all the hard work…

6:30-12am: I downed 3 liters of water (yep, I was thirsty) all while Andrew was cooking up burgers and popping popcorn. I admit, the smells were a bit torturous, but after scent of burgers and popcorn wore off and I realized that there wasn’t going to be any issue for me to complete the fast.  I studied the rest of the night and got really sleepy. I slept like a baby and had no hunger issues.

12-4:45am: Zzzzzz time

4:45am: Rise and shine and give me my coffee!!! A fresh pot was already waiting for me by the time I woke up. Time for a last cram session before my morning midterm. Hungry yet? Nah, but yes, I’ll have another cup of joe!

9-10:30am: Focused, rocking out my O-chem midterm…with no embarrassing, growley stomach noises!

11-12pm: Ran 7.2 miles

12-1pm: Kickboxed for an hour

2 pm: Finally, I’m home, showered and ready to eat. Here’s the first meal after 24+ hours of fasting.

5 oz Grilled Chicken

Huge bowl of Romaine Lettuce with Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing

15 Fresh Red Cherries

3 C air popped popcorn

2 Liters of H2O

…and it was delicious!

The best news is I that I’m down to 113.6 lbs as of today 🙂

TODAY’S STATS RECAP

1. Workout: 7.2 mile run +  1 hour kickboxing

2. Food: Calories 1,229/ Carbs 117g / Fat 29g/ Protein 113g

 

Comments
  1. Hanna says:

    Four hours of working out + a midterm while fasting…. that’s amazing!

    • @ Hanna- it was 2 hours of working out + a midterm. It wasn’t hard that afternoon…but I definitely felt hungry that evening and that weekend. I ate a lot more this weekend and I know it was from weeks of low calories and the fast. I will need to find a happy balance if I want to stay on track 🙂 More to come!

  2. Hanna says:

    Oh I thought you worked out 2 hours in the evening and then another 2 hours the next morning. In either case, great job! It’s very inspiring reading your blog.

  3. ernie says:

    kickboxing, not at the dojo??? where?? i don’t tell….

    • @Ernie, feel free to elaborate (if you care to). Oh, I’m training at Crossfit360 in Signal Hill. I’m just trying something new and different. My heart still belongs to the dojo 🙂 They offer kickboxing, crossfit and Krav Maga…so far, so good 🙂 Still sparring on the weekends at the dojo though!

Leave a comment